What Penalties Might You Face For A DUI In Alabama?
Being charged with driving under the influence (DUI) can be stressful, and these charges can have a long-lasting impact on your life. Fines and increased insurance costs can impact your finances, and jail time, probation and losing your driver’s license can all limit your freedom.
At , we stand with people in Opelika and the surrounding area when they face criminal charges. Our experienced team can help you push back against DUI charges, protect yourself from the penalties a conviction could bring and potentially have the charges reduced or dropped.
What Are The Penalties For A First-Time DUI In Alabama?
While a single DUI may result from a mistake, Alabama courts still assess severe penalties for those charged with drunk driving. Penalties for a first-time DUI may include a 90-day license suspension, up to one year in jail, and between $600 and $2,100 in fines. Those whose cases involved aggravating circumstances have to use an ignition interlock device (IID) for one year after a conviction.
What Penalties Might You Face With Prior Charges On Your Record?
With one prior offense on your record, you may face up to one year in jail, between $1,100 and $5,100 in fines, and the loss of your driver’s license or installation of an IID for two years. A third offense within 10 years will lead to between 60 days and one year in jail with no option for probation, up to $10,100 in fines and three-year license revocation or IID installation.
Penalties become even more severe if you have three or more prior convictions on your record. A fourth offense is classified as a felony, and can lead to thousands of dollars in fees, at least one year of license revocation and up to 10 years in state prison.
Aggravating Circumstances Can Make Penalties Even More Severe
With certain “aggravating circumstances,” you face additional penalties, including a required IID for even a first DUI offense. These factors can include:
- A blood alcohol content (BAC) of .15 or higher
- Refusal to submit to a breath test
- An accident resulting in injury
- A child under the age of 14 in the vehicle
Take The First Step To Protect Yourself From DUI Penalties
Even a first-time DUI conviction can impact a person’s life in many ways, but you do not have to face these challenges alone. Reach out to us online or call to discuss your case with a member of our team.